Listening to our Inner Voice

April 24, 2012 at 11:33 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

image by Jamie CourtadeI recently read one of my favorite books. “Promptings” by Kody Bateman. It’s a great inspirational book about listening to our inner voice within us, which rings so true with me. I learned during the time of the girls being in the hospital after their premature birth, that it is important to listen to that voice within us. Especially as a mother, but every one has that voice, and sometimes it’s more of a feeling of what to do, or not to do. I have learned over the past 17 years to really get in tune to that voice within me and 95-99% of the time, it’s right. “Turn R instead of going straight, call this person, send that person a card, tell that person you love them”. Or sometimes it’s messages like, “go back inside and get your list”, or, “remember to grab your water to take with you”, whatever it may be. Kody says the more we listen to our inner promptings, the more and bigger promptings we receive. And I’m finding that to be so true.  As we learn to listen to our inner voice with small things, we then may get inspiration in bigger things;  to start our own business, to get out of our comfort zone and introduce ourself to someone we greatly admire, or perhaps, maybe, to write a book!
I remember reconnecting with a friend I hadn’t seen in awhile. I had walked right past an aisle in the grocery store that I needed an item from, and a little later while still in the store, remembered I needed that item. I went back to that aisle and just as I did, my friend saw me and called my name. We chatted a bit and reconnected, getting together a few times since then and found out we can mutually benefit each other not only in friendship, but now with our businesses.
But I had to be aware of what my inner voice was telling me. So often in this high tech world, we can’t hear anything within, because of all the noise in the outside world, iphones, radios, tv, computers, all going at us all the time. I often wonder how many great ideas, inspirations, or even simple helpful thoughts people are missing, because they’re tuning out their inner self.
When we’re open and responsive to our intuition, instinct or inner voice, it leads us to some really great opportunities, and we begin to see that things really do happen for a reason. Big things, little things. That’s one of the focal points in my book. I really don’t believe in coincidences- there are those silly ones, where as kids, we’d say the same thing at the same time, ya know the “jinx you owe me a coke” type ones. But I mean in a bigger picture way.
I’ll get more in to this in detail some other time, and there is definitely more about it in my book. But start by looking for and listening to those promptings, you’re inner voice within you. Some times you’ll be surprised by what you hear.
Make today the best day ever!

Amy

Thank you for visiting my blog. Also, remember to click the sign up button to the right to subscribe to my blog, then you’ll know right when I’ve posted! You can also join my facebook page: http://facebook.com/BlessingsinDisguiseBook/ or follow me on twitter: http://twitter.com/amyjthoreson

above image: Jamie Courtade

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

