Are you a Spinning top, or Merry-go-round?

January 11, 2011 at 4:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Have you ever just been burned out?  Who hasn’t?  Right?  Did you know that it’s okay- as long as you learn something from it?  I am usually so on the go, from the moment I get up, until finally some 16+ hours later when I finally close my eyes for the night.  It’s something I grew into after going through a time of depression several years ago, two different times in my life.  Now, I have a hard time sitting still without feeling like I’m neglecting something, should be doing something, or that I’m not being productive.  Most of this comes  from how I learned to pull myself out of the depression.  I started by talking myself into doing “just one thing today.”  And I’d feel so good about getting that “one thing” accomplished, it inspired me to do something else, and so on & so forth.  I started feeling like I accomplished something, I felt worthwhile.  Now, almost the opposite is the case- as I said a minute ago, I have a hard time  just being still.

But, being still is not only okay, it’s essential at times.  If, like myself, we’re in a constant state of motion- there’s no time to really let our minds be still and process all that’s going on.  We are like a spinning top, going, going, going, but in no real direction- no plan.

I talked the last 2 blogs about meditation- and while this blog still applies to that, I want to focus more on burn out.  If we are going so fast like that spinning top, eventually what happens to the top?  It starts to slow down, wobbles a bit, and then… plop.  Done.  When we take time to meditate, breath, focus, and enjoy what’s going on around us, then we can be more like a Merry-go-round at the Midway.  Gently going round, doing what we need to do, but stopping from time to time to drop off or pick up passengers… or projects, maybe actually in this case.  Taking a break to focus, look around, and get right back at it.

I don’t know if this is a silly comparison or what- but it’s what came to mind.  I know for me, I tend to be the spinning top all too often.  But then all the sudden, bam, I’m down… until something or someone picks me back up again and gives me a push.

I spent most of December being in burn out mode-but instead of letting it get to me, this time, somehow, I was actually able to be grateful for it.  I needed the time to just enjoy the Holiday season more so than I usually do.  We have 2 of our 3 children w/ birthdays also in December, so that makes it extra hectic, on top of all the Christmas concerts, plays, shopping, baking, etc.

I did what I needed to do, to keep in touch w/ those I needed to for my business, but I didn’t push myself to do any more than that, and it felt good, it felt right.

But, it also gave me the time to really take a look at where I want to go in 2011.  I spent a great deal of time contemplating, discerning, & thinking about the upcoming year.  And it was great to do.  As each day of this first month of 2011 unfolds, I am feeling more & more excited for the whole year!

What about you?  What plans do you have for 2011?  What action steps do you have in place or working on to make your plans a reality?  It’s not too late to get your plans for 2011 made- it’s never too late!  I love the quote, and I honestly don’t know who said it first, but, “If you keep on doing what you’ve always been doing, you’re going to keep on getting what you’ve already got!”

Make some plans, focus on your day, so you can enjoy every day!

Take some time to decide & commit to making 2011 your best year yet!  YOU CAN!

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

Thank you for visiting my blog.  I post on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s.  Also, remember to click the sign up button to the right  to subscribe to my blog, so you’ll know right when I’ve posted!  You can also visit my website http://blessingsindisguisebook.com and join my facebook page:  http://facebook.com/BlessingsinDisguiseBook/ or follow me on twitter:  http://twitter.com/amyjthoreson

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

