Why I wrote “Blessings in Disguise”

October 5, 2010 at 6:10 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I thought I would share with you today why I wrote my book, Blessings in Disguise.

It was not originally something I  thought of doing.  I did not have aspirations of being a best selling published author as a young girl.  It was not something I ever saw myself accomplishing.  Sure… as a kid, in grade school, don’t we all think it’d be fun to write our own book?  But I like many others, thought, “who would read what I wrote?  What do I have to say?”

As we were going through some of the health challenges over the years, mostly with our youngest daughters’ severe food allergies and then a few months later w/ my cancer diagnosis, and over came them naturally- no drugs, surgery, chemo, radiation, etc., others that I talked to about my story, and more often than not, complete strangers that somehow we would get to talking about health issues, yet had never met me before, in finding out our story, would tell me,  “Amy, that would make a great book”~ or, “You should write a book!”…..and so, the seed was planted.

I wrote my story, because for one, I have learned to listen to outer as well as inner promptings over the past several years, and 2, I have come across so many people that have a hunger to learn more about healing their bodies naturally instead of just treating symptoms, that are led to me through mutual friends, etc, and ask me about my story.  I simply want to help as many as who want to know, how and what we did, and how we came out on top of all the struggles.  And more importantly, that they can too!

Interestingly enough, I just had this happen twice in the past 5 days!  Two different people, both friends of friends, have been recently diagnosed w/ thyroid cancer, and they were told about me by a mutual friend, and they both contacted me to find out more.  What did I do, what did my Doctor do, how am I today?  All kinds of questions, this happens so often, and every time it does, I am so happy to give them hope.  Cancer is a scary thing- but it doesn’t control us, we don’t have to let it.  I did at first, I let the fear take over, then once I made the decision to go the natural route, instead of the traditional way of having surgery to remove my thyroid, I felt such a sense of power!!  I went from being a victim, to taking control of my circumstances, standing tall and saying, “I am meant for better than this”!

Blessings in Disguise, though is not just about our health issues, and how we came through them, physically- it’s about how we spent nearly 10 years of almost back to back trials, tragedies and fear, and how we came  through it all emotionally!  I have written my story to help those that feel they are just getting by, or maybe not even getting by, are struggling so deep, they can’t see a way out, to know that it is possible to cut loose and to become what they truly desire to be!  You can be, do, & have more than what you are getting by with now.  Every person is a great person- they first have to believe that, and I want to help you know that.  Then know what to do next, and help you walk from the valley and start the climb up the mountain of victory to whatever you see your self as the potential to be!

Rather it’s emotional issues, financial, relationship issues w/ your spouse, children, co-workers, or whomever, or whatever it is that you feel is holding you back, you can use that as your catalyst to help you move forward and turn your trials into triumphs- that’s where you’ll find your Blessings in Disguise!

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

Thank you for visiting my blog.  I post on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s.  Also, remember to click the sign up button to the right  to subscribe to my blog, so you’ll know right when I’ve posted!  You can also visit my website http://blessingsindisguisebook.com and join my facebook page:  http://facebook.com/BlessingsinDisguiseBook/

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

