Proactive or Reactive?

September 7, 2010 at 6:27 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Are you always in a rush?  Does it feel like you’re constantly racing with the clock to get somewhere on time, or get a project done by the deadline?

I know I’ve felt that way- numerous times- too many to count!  I started being that way when our son was an infant, he hated riding in the car.  Anytime we went anywhere, he’d scream from the back of the van in his car seat.  I became such a fast driver, just to get where I needed to in as little time as possible, so I could get him out and get him to stop crying.  This went on for months.  This was such a tense time, I always felt tense.  With him being our second child, as he got older, he might have been better in the car, but then he was super busy at home as he grew into toddlerhood, and I was constantly on the go, chasing after him, trying to take care of his older sister, along with all the other household duties of being a mom.

Thankfully now, our children are getting to the point of being more independent, being able to help fix their own lunches, help with dishes, even laundry- just basic helping out around the house.  Life in that regards has mellowed a bit.  But it sure took me a long time to get out of that fast driving habit!  Our son is 9 now, and there were other things that came along in our life that always left me feeling like I was in a hurry, had to rush, always racing to get somewhere on time.

Now over the past year, I’ve been able to take a calmer, more relaxed approach.  One thing I noticed recently was that all those times I was tense, in a hurry, looking out for only myself- if I did get to my intended destination on time ( which was rare), I was tense when I got there, most the time came upon every red light along the way, slow drivers ‘in my way”, and countless other situations that would slow my progress.

Now that I’m able to (most the time) not be in a rush, I come upon more green lights, traffic seems lighter, I get to where I need to on time, relaxed, maybe even notice a field of flowers, or the sunrise over the bay, or a neat looking barn along the way.

When we’re in the flow of life, life works for us.  When we take the attitude that “I am where I am meant to be at this moment in my life”, we understand that all things will work out for us.  We all have things that happen when we are getting ready to leave the house, don’t we?   Can’t find the keys, something gets spilled, a phone call, one of the kids can’t find their favorite bunny to bring in the car, whatever it may be.  I have taken the total attitude that “it’s okay”.  I trust that all things are working out for my best interest.  Instead of getting upset at myself, or the situation, or another person for making me leave late, I try to remind myself that maybe it’s for a reason.  It might be saving me from an accident, or some other unknown reason that is actually a positive as to why this is happening.

Now, there is a huge difference between taking a lackadaisical approach to life- being indifferent, lazy and uninterested, and what I’m talking about; excepting the flow of life, not getting bent out of shape when things don’t go our way.  I think there’s a fine line between the two.  One is proactive, one is inactive and if you’re like I used to be, that is reactive!  How do you rate yourself on the acceptance scale of life?

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

Thank you for visiting my blog.  I post on Tuesday’s and Thursday’s.  Also, remember to click the sign up button to the right  to subscribe to my blog, so you’ll know right when I’ve posted!  You can also visit my website http://blessingsindisguisebook.com and join my facebook page:  http://facebook.com/BlessingsinDisguiseBook/

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

