Short and to the point

August 26, 2010 at 10:35 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

This post is short and to the point in more ways than one.  One of my favorite quotes of all time, and certainly my favorite quote in the whole “Star Wars” Series, is by our little friend, Yoda.  He certainly is short, and he gets to the point.  So when he says to Luke, “Do or do not, there is no try.”  Fits Yoda to a T.  We all can learn from this quiet old little man.  Do or do not, there is no try.

How many times do we say to ourselves, “I’ll try.”  What does that tell our subconscious mind?  It says, we don’t really believe in our self, in what we’re saying.  We don’t believe we can do it.  So what’s most likely going to happen?  We won’t complete the task or if we complete it, it won’t be our best.  And I certainly don’t think we’ll have fun while doing it.

I notice this often in my children.  In our home, we’re working on not speaking out of turn… letting the other person finish their sentence, or letting Mom & Dad be the parent, and not telling siblings what to do.  I’ll ask them “Will you do your best today at not speaking for someone else?”  They’ll answer, “I’ll try.”  Sorry, not gonna cut it here.  I want them to commit to doing their best, and “I’ll try” is not their best.  Does that mean I expect them to be perfect?  No.  Their kids, their going to mess up, we all mess up!  But I simply am trying to teach them to to do their best.  When they give me a full out, “Yes, Mom”, we have a much better chance of getting through the day with less arguments, less interrupting, less hassle.

So for the day today, and through the weekend, and into next week, remember when you’re tempted to say, “I’ll give it a try.”  Bump it up a notch, and say, “I’m gonna do it!- I’m gonna do my best!”  You’ll feel so much better than simply trying.  And if it’s not done 100%, that’s okay.  I can pretty much guarantee you’ll at least have done much better, than if you’d of simply… tried.

Be Yoda, remember our good friend Yoda: “Do or do not, there is no try”.

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

Thank you for visiting my blog.  I post every Tuesday and Thursday.  Also, remember to click the sign up button to the right  to subscribe to my blog, so you’ll know right when I’ve posted!  You can also visit my website http://blessingsindisguisebook.com and join my facebook page:  http://facebook.com/blessingsindisguisebook/

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great blog Amy! I’m gonna do my best today!
    Thanks for the simple reminder.
    Patti

    • Thanks for your comment, Patti and thanks for checking in! Blessings to you!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

