What’s your mood?

August 5, 2010 at 11:43 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

What happens when we do nothing?  Is it more than just nothing?  When we do nothing, is it possible that we actually move backwards?

I heard a speaker at a convention over 15 years ago say, “Nothing is stagnant.  We are either moving forwards or we are moving backwards.”  That was very profound to me, and has stuck with me all these years.  If we aren’t intentionally doing something to move us in a forwards motion, we are automatically going to slid, although maybe just a little- backwards.  I don’t know about you, but if I’ve made progress, the last thing I want to do is have to make it back up!  Also, when we are moving forwards, even in some small way, it’s better than the alternative.  Even if it’s something as simple as just staying positive that day.

I know we all have bad moments.  The problem is, and I’ve done it too, recently, like Tuesday…. we tend to let the bad moments spiral us downward and ruin the whole day.  We don’t have to do that.  But I know, that’s sometimes easier said than done.  Like I said, I did it, too.  But I went on and learned more from it.  I asked myself late in the evening that day, what can I do from here, what can I take from this day and move forward?

I reminded myself that I can choose to start right then to believe that tomorrow will be better.  I woke up the next morning with a feeling and belief that it was already a great day!  I went through my morning with a sense of excitement and joy that “today was going to be better than yesterday.”  And it was!  I had a much better day, and moved forward and forgave myself for having a bad day.

We don’t have to let circumstances dictate our mood and how the rest of our day goes.  We can turn things around in just a matter of minutes.  Here are some things that I’ve tried- (obviously I didn’t try them Tuesday), but other times I have done some of these and they’ve really helped turn my feelings around.

~ Take 90 seconds and breath deeply, concentrating only on your breathing, not what you need to do, didn’t do, or should of said!-only focus on your breathing.

~Put on some of your favorite music

~Go to a special place, by yourself-again for at least 90 seconds, do a happy dance, thinking of what you want to happen.  See yourself giving yourself, your family member, kids, co-worker, whoever might be involved, high-fives, cheering, being happy & excited for whatever it is you are achieving

~Go for a brisk walk… or a more leisurely walk taking time to enjoy the beauty around you

~Do jumping jacks for 90 seconds, or some other form of brisk exercise to get your blood pumping

~Read or listen to a favorite motivational book… bookmark a page or chapter that is one of your favorites that really leaves you feeling uplifted so you can find it quickly when you need that pick me up!

These are some of the things I’ve used to put a bad moment behind me, and create the rest of my day to be better.  I would love to hear from you what you’ve done that turns your mood from not so good, to energized and uplifted!

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

http://blessingsindisguisebook.com/

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your words shared in today’s thoughts make the book, “The Slight Edge,” come to mind. The premise is most things to propel us forward are actually a series of simple and continuous activity. The things that hold us back is not doing those activities. While it may be easier to do those things that carry us forward it is usually easier to not do them. Doing them moves us towards our goal, not doing them actually takes us farther away from our goal….!!

    As always, I appreciate your wisdom and you taking the time to give us something to ponder upon!!!

    • Thanks again Kurt~ That is one book on my “to read” list! Ahhh… there’s so many good ones out there! I appreciate you taking the time to read and also to comment on my posts! Blessings to you & Carol!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

