Give yourself away!

August 3, 2010 at 10:45 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Giving.

When you see that word- giving, who comes to mind that you know is the epitome of giving?  What else do you think of about that person?  I would guess many positive words come to mind that also describe that person.

I know many people like that and they are some of the happiest people I know.  Do you think there is a correlation?  I do.  It’s one of the best philosophies to live by, give of yourself.  When we are giving, and giving out of joy, we- feel- joy!  We are living in joy and in harmony, and that is one of the most basic desires, to be happy- joyous.  And there are so many ways we can give- it doesn’t always have to involve money.

We can give a smile- to all those we come in contact with every day.  We can give our time to charities and non profit organizations.  We can give a helping hand to a co-worker or neighbor.  We can buy a coffee or tea or lunch for a friend or someone who’s having a bad day.  We can send a greeting card- a real one- not an e- card.  The list is endless of small or large ways we can give.  And it doesn’t have to be big.  A lot of little joyful ways throughout our day that we can give of ourselves will make our own cup runneth over with love, joy and abundance.  We will feel so wonderful for being a giving person and hearing and seeing others gratitude for our small acts of kindness.  We will become the person that others talk about as the happy person who’s so giving.  I don’t know about you, but I’d rather others say that about me than mention how much “stuff” I have, or- say nothing at all.

I want others to know that one of my main goals is to help them- Help them achieve better success in their business, or with their relationships, or achieve a better sense of self worth and self acceptance & love.  What do you want others to know and say about you in your career or place of business?  Do you keep your mission or goal out in front of you everyday?  I do.  I have a bright yellow sign hanging near my computer that says, “Who am I helping today?  It’s all about them!”

It’s not about me and what I want from them, it’s about sharing with them how my business can best help them achieve their goals and dreams.  That helps me to have more of a giving heart when talking with them and sharing my business with them.  I want them to know they can count on me to help them do their best.

One of the things I love to do to be a giver is when I hear that our local food pantry is in need of food, I love going to the grocery store and filling a cart full of canned and boxed goods and taking it to the pantry.  I am filled with such joy doing this.  It’s a simple thing, but it brings me such a sense of fulfillment and also gratitude that I’m able to do this.

What can you do today to be a giver, and give from the heart?  Go throughout your day today, looking for ways to give of yourself out of joy!  You’ll  be glad you did!

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

http://blessingsindisguisebook.com/

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

