What are you saying?

July 20, 2010 at 10:12 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Have you ever heard the saying, “What you do speaks so loudly I cannot hear what you are saying?”  I heard this about 20 years ago, and it’s so true isn’t it?  How many times do we tell a client, a spouse or significant other, or especially our children, we’ll do something… and  then don’t.  It’s so easy to say something, but then harder to follow through.  I’m just as bad at it as the next person.

We are being pulled in so many directions, aren’t we?  We all have so many obligations between our work and our personal life, it’s hard to really think about what we’re doing- we’re just going through the motions sometimes…. and then we wonder, “where did the day, or week, or year go?”

What can be done about it?

I don’t know about you, but I’d rather enjoy this one time chance here on Earth, than to get to the end of each day or many years from now and ask myself, “Where’d it go?”  and more importantly, “What did  I do with it?”

I know we all have to make a living… but isn’t a better question maybe, “are we really making life count?”  If at the end of the day we wonder did I do something that really mattered today, maybe it’s time to revisit our priorities, and make some new choices.

Our life is only as good as we make it.  What do our children say about us?  I know mine quite often say that “mom’s busy”.  But I don’t ever want them to feel that mom’s too busy for them.  Yes, sometimes what they “need” can wait a few minutes or even sometimes longer, but I don’t ever want them to feel unimportant to me.

What do others say about us?  Do we enjoy our friendships, our spouse or significant other, even our parents- for those of us that are still fortunate to have them with us?  What really is important in life anyway?  It’s not having a great job, or in this economy- any job for that matter.  Yes, we need an income to take care of those we love, but we also need to not let it get to the point of neglecting them.  People are what’s important, not things.  And if we’re constantly chasing the almighty dollar to have more “things” at the expense of our families and friends and our relationship w/ them,  then we need to rethink about life’s true purpose.

Also, when we tell someone we’re going to do something, be somewhere, and we don’t… we become unreliable….to others, ourselves and the the Universe in general.  We will only be given as much as God or the Universe sees that we can handle, and if were not handling the time we’re given now well, why would we be given more customers, clients, money, friends, or anything else… if we’re not taking care of what we already have.  When I first heard this, it really impacted me and made me realize how true this is… I need to do right with what I’m given already, and be thankful for it- I might add, and then I’ll be able to receive more.

I hope you’ll take some time today to think about how you’re spending each day and what you’re really saying to yourself, those around you and to the world!

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

http://blessingsindisguisebook.com/

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

