From Fear to Joy!

July 15, 2010 at 10:23 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Have you ever worried about some possible situation so much that it seemed to consume your every thought?  I know I have.   There have been times in my past that I had hypochondriac tendencies regarding my families health, and every little bump, lump, headache, or anything unusual would send me into a fear that something else was going to go wrong, again.  I waited and looked  for that proverbial shoe to drop.

Why did I do this?  I don’t really know- other than maybe it was a fear more of being incompetent, that I wasn’t good enough to take care of my family or myself.  Even today, when something unusual shows up in one of our family members, once in awhile, the first thing I start to do is fear the worst.  Then I have to talk myself out of it, back up and just relax.  Fearing something, isn’t going to help, and it’s only going to exacerbate the problem, if there really is one!  Sometimes, and more often than not, it’s nothing.  But my fear can even take a “nothing” and make it something if my fear continues or consumes me.  I have to remind myself that I can overcome anything, and that more likely than not, whatever might show up, is something small and just a minor bump in the road.  But habits are hard to break.

When we know our minds are so extremely p0werful and we understand that our mind actually only knows what we tell it, we can overcome so many things, fears, illnesses, our feelings… we really are in control… or can be in control of it all, when we know how to use our minds to be in control.  If this is a new concept, start with something small- your feelings, how are you feeling right now?  Is it a pleasant feeling, or are you feeling a little bit down about something.  Is there something you can do to change it?  Yes!  But only if you want to.  Visualize what you want to take place, see it happening, but more importantly, feel it happening.  Concentrate on this for at least 90 seconds, and if you can- 5 minutes!  Think of all the possibilities of what chain reactions that could mean, once what you want is carried out.  Focus on that, instead of  the negative.  Do this as often as possible.  You will feel uplifted, more hopeful.

If there is a particular situation or person in your life that is getting you down, deal w/ it only when you have to, then as soon as you can, do something you love.  We all have “thorns” in life, it’s part of life- so expecting there to be no thorns would be expecting  the impossible.  But it’s how we deal w/ those thorns that matters.  And on top of that, how we allow- or more importantly, don’t allow that to affect the other areas of our life.

By focusing on what is good or great in our life, that’s where you’ll find and create your joy!

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

