Being Strong in a Difficult Time

May 25, 2010 at 9:48 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Have you ever gone through something and you just don’t know how you were going to make it through it?  I remember times like that and just yesterday I was reminded of how I used to live in such fear, day in and day out.

I called a woman yesterday who I met at one of the Business Expos I did these last couple of weeks.  When she stopped at my table to talk about SendOutCards, she put her contact information in my bowl to let me know she was interested in sending a free card to find out more and wanted me to call her to set a time to go over that.   I called her yesterday to follow- up with that.  When I said Hello, told her who I was and said, “How are you today?”, she sounded happy to hear from me, but then said, “Well, actually, Amy, I’m not very good.  I just found out I have to redo my mammogram.”  I apologized for calling and she said, “No, that’s okay, just pray for me.”  I said I would and I’d call in a few weeks, and she said that was fine.

I remember getting a similar call regarding my thyroid.  I didn’t have to have another biopsy, but my call was informing me I had thyroid cancer.  When this lady mentioned to me yesterday of her call, it reminded me so much of how I felt when I got my call.  The pit in my stomach fear was there again, not for me, but for her, I felt deeply for her and wanted to reach through the phone and give her a hug.

The very next thing I did was to make a note to send her a card later that evening after the kids went to bed when I do my daily card sending.  It felt to comforting to me to know I could do that immediately.  I didn’t have to get to a store.  Which if that were the case, I know it would have never happened.  This lady was a virtual stranger to me, we’d met only briefly, and the chances of me getting to a card store and getting a card out to her were slim to none, and I think I can safely say, that’s the case for most of the population.  But with SendOutCards available to me immediately, to be able to send this nice lady a real card to her in just minutes, made me feel so good inside to know that I just might make her smile, if only for a minute or two, or bring her a sense of peace with my message in my card.

In my message, I told her very briefly that I had been in a similar situation and I encouraged her to not let her fear get the better of her.  I told her that I had done that in the beginning and it certainly didn’t help.  I told her, it’s okay to be afraid, and to cry, but also to know that she has the power to get through this no matter how it turns out.  I mentioned that by staying positive can be the best thing for her to do.  I hope I helped her, I hope that she knows that through my card, I am there for her.

If you are going through a rough time, rather it’s medical, emotional, financial, whatever it may be- stay as positive as you can.  Know that you are  stronger than anything life throws your way- especially with God as your backup.  It’s easier to get through these tough times when you have Faith and know that no matter what, he’ll take care of you.  I know sometimes, it doesn’t feel like he’s there- I’ve felt that way many times.  You may not understand now why things are happening the way they are, but there is a bigger picture that we don’t see.  Cling to all the positives you can, and know that you are strong!

Make today the best day ever!

Amy

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hah I’m really the only reply to your great post?

  2. You’ve done it once more. Great read.

  3. If only more people could hear about this!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

