No More SAD (seasonal affective disorder)

March 7, 2010 at 11:05 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Well, I don’t know about for you- but this week sure flew by for me!  When Thursday afternoon, about 3:30 came around, I was like, “Woe!  It’s Thursday already!”  It’s been a pretty busy week!  I mailed in the author’s agreement for the book anthology late Thursday night, and have been reviewing my 1200 word article and some advice from a few key ladies I asked to preview it for me to see if I was on the right track and putting together what I was going for w/ the chapter.  They each has some really great ideas and helpful suggestions and I am so grateful to them  for taking time out of  their lives to do that for me.

I finished “tweaking” that article this afternoon, although I’ll still be able to access the editor for the publishing company that I’m working with, and I’m sure she’ll have some ideas for it as well.  I also spent some of the day today, tidying up my full book.  I counted, I have 160 pages already and still have some details to fill in as far as some events that happened while the girls were in the hospital, some events after that, etc.  My memory from some of that has totally left, I’m sure for reasons to just make it easier to deal with.  But to make the most impact with my story, I’ll need to review the medical records, and my journals during those years, and also the years after Micah was an infant and during the past 5 years as well. Then after I get all those details filled in, I still have one final chapter to round it all together, close it up and send readers off with the reason for my message, and  then I’ll have my full rough draft ready.  Then what?  I’ll start reviewing also rather I’ll self publish, or go with traditional publishing and decided where to go from here.  Crazy, but exciting!

It’s been beautifully sunny here the past several days!  It sure helps with the moral around town!  Love to see grass- although brown and soggy, showing from where snow piles once were, and to hear birds chirping their Spring songs, and of course the warmer and more tolerable temperatures!  I used to spend January and February to down and sad.  I suffered from the SAD, (Seasonal Affective Disorder), but I haven’t had that be an issue the past 3 years.  Mostly due to the fact that I had something that I was passionate about and that has kept me going and helped these cold winter months to fly by.  Three years ago, it was getting ready for our extended trip on the sailboat, 2 years ago we were on that trip, and last winter and this year I’ve had the passion of growing my SendOutCards business and now writing my book, as well as being fortunate enough to be part of the book anthology!  What a difference in my life now!  While I loved and still do my family, and taking  care of them is my top priority, I needed something for me to be super passionate about, and that’s what’s made all the difference in my life, in my attitude, and in my results!  If you feel just ho-hum about life, not sure where you’re heading, take some quiet time for yourself and decide what is something you are passionate about doing.  Is there something, no matter how small, you can do today to start to make that dream of yours a reality?  Make a plan, 5 years, or 10, or 5 months, write it down, focus on it every day, and you’ll be amazed at how things come into your life to help you attain that goal!  You can do it!

Make it the best day ever!

Amy

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

